WhatsApp is working on an update allowing users to recover or retrieve messages they deleted by mistake. The new update will also enable admins in group chats to delete messages for all.
For the time being, the new features are being tested for iOS’s WhatsApp Beta users in version 220.127.116.11. However, the feature will soon be rolled out to Android users.
According to the report, the ability to retrieve deleted messages will only be for the ones you delete for yourself (delete for me), not the ones you “delete for everyone.” A snack bar will show up, informing users that the message has been erased and they can undo it. It is unknown how long users will have to retrieve a deleted message.
The Meta-owned instant messaging app is also said to bring the ability for group admins to delete any message for everyone in a group. WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo also spotted this, and the feature is currently available for some beta testers on WhatsApp for iOS.
“If you are looking for a fast way to check if the feature is available, just check if you can delete any recent message from a group where you’re an admin: if “delete for everyone” shows up when you try to delete a message sent from another participant, it means the feature is available for your account!” the report says.
This feature, which seems to have been inspired by Slack, is a little different from what we find in Slack, where a group admin can delete a message without anyone knowing. In WhatsApp, group members will be shown a message that reads, “A group admin has deleted this message.”
Although it is not known when the feature will go live for all users, given that it has been released in a few selected beta versions, it would be safe to assume that in an upcoming update shortly, this feature gets rolled out.